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Electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) are the most frequently
used tobacco product among U.S. youths, and past 30-day
e-cigarette use is more prevalent among high school students
than among adults (7,2). E-cigarettes typically deliver nicotine,
and the U.S. Surgeon General has concluded that nicotine
exposure during adolescence can cause addiction and can harm
the developing adolescent brain (2). Through authority granted
by the Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act,
the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) prohibits e-cigarette
sales to minors, free samples, and vending machine sales, except
in adult-only facilities (3). States, localities, territories, and
tribes maintain broad authority to adopt additional or more
stringent requirements regarding tobacco product use, sales,
marketing, and other topics (2,4). To understand the current
e-cigarette policy landscape in the United States, CDC assessed
state and territorial laws that 1) prohibit e-cigarette use and
conventional tobacco smoking indoors in restaurants, bars,
and worksites; 2) require a retail license to sell e-cigarettes;
3) prohibit e-cigarette self-service displays (e.g., requirement
that products be kept behind the counter or in a locked box);
4) establish 21 years as the minimum age of purchase for all
tobacco products, including e-cigarettes (tobacco-21); and
5) apply an excise tax to e-cigarettes. As of September 30,
2017, eight states, the District of Columbia (DC), and Puerto
Rico prohibited indoor e-cigarette use and smoking in indoor
areas of restaurants, bars, and worksites; 16 states, DC, and the
U.S. Virgin Islands required a retail license to sell e-cigarettes;
26 states prohibited e-cigarette self-service displays; five states,
DC, and Guam had tobacco-21 laws; and eight states, DC,
Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands taxed e-cigarettes.
Sixteen states had none of the assessed laws. A comprehensive
approach that combines state-level strategies to reduce youths’

initiation of e-cigarettes and population exposure to e-cigarette
aerosol, coupled with federal regulation, could help reduce
health risks posed by e-cigarettes among youths (2,5).
Effective and enacted dates for laws enacted as of September 30,
2017, were obtained from the CDC State Tobacco Activities
Tracking and Evaluation (STATE) System for the 50 states,
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DC, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Guam.*
Legislation information is collected quarterly from the Westlaw
online legal research database and is analyzed, coded, and
entered into STATE by CDC.T State laws and regulations
prohibiting self-service displays of e-cigarettes were obtained
from the Tobacco Control Legal Consortium (6); effective and
enacted dates and territory laws were reviewed in the Westlaw
database and on territory websites.

As of September 30, 2017, eight states, DC, and Puerto
Rico prohibited indoor e-cigarette use and conventional
tobacco smoking in worksites, restaurants, and bars (Figure 1).
E-cigarette self-service display restrictions were the most com-
monly enacted of the five types of laws (26 states), followed by
retail license requirements (16 states, DC, and the U.S. Virgin
Islands) (Table). Tobacco-21 was the least common law, taking
effect in California, Hawaii, and DC in 2016; in Maine, New
Jersey, and Oregon in 2017; and in Guam in 2018. Eight states,
DC, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands taxed e-cigarettes,
with approaches varying by state. Five of these tax laws have
been adjusted since enactment: California, Minnesota, and
the U.S. Virgin Islands increased the tax rate, and Kansas and
DC decreased the tax rate.

*Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are the only U.S. territories
tracked in STATE System as of June 2017. Additional territories will be added
to STATE in the future. https://www.cdc.gov/STATESystem/.

T http://legalsolutions.thomsonreuters.com/law-products/westlaw-legal-research/.

FIGURE 1. States and territories with and without laws* prohibiting
smoking and use of e-cigarettes in indoor areas of private worksites,
restaurants, and bars — United States, September 30, 2017

W Prohibits indoor smoking and
e-cigarettes use (n =10)

[ Prohibits indoor smoking only (n = 20)

[ No comprehensive smoke-free
law or prohibition on indoor
e-cigarette use (n = 24)

Abbreviations: DC = District of Columbia; GU = Guam; PR = Puerto Rico;

VI = U.S. Virgin Islands.

* A comprehensive state smoke-free law is defined as one that prohibits smoking
in indoor areas of private worksites, restaurants, and bars.

The number of newly enacted laws increased from four to 16
during 2013-2014 and from 16 to 21 during 2014-2015, but
decreased from 21 to 15 during 2015-2016. Eight laws were
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TABLE. State laws regarding indoor public use, retail sales, and prices of electronic cigarettes — U.S. states and Guam, Puerto Rico, and

U.S. Virgin Islands, enacted as of September 30, 2017

Effective date
Sales of tobacco
products
Prohibits Retail license including
e-cigarette use requiredtosell Self-service  e-cigarettes to
in worksites,  e-cigarettes displays of persons aged Summary of lawst
restaurants, and over the e-cigarettes <21yrs enacted as of
State/Territory bars counter prohibited* prohibited E-cigarette tax (tax rate) September 30, 2017
Alabama —S5 — — — — —
Alaska — — — — — —
Arizona — — — — — —
Arkansas — May 1,2015 Jul 22,2015 — — RL, SS
California Jun9, 2016 Jan 1,2017 Jun9, 2016 Jun9,2016" 4/1/2017; (27.3% wholesale cost) EF, RL, SS, T-21, T
7/1/2017; (65.08% wholesale cost)**
Colorado — — — — — —
Connecticut — Mar 1, 2016 — — — RL
Delaware Oct 5,2015 — Jun 12,2014 — 1/1/2018; $0.05 per fluid mL EF, SS, T
District of Columbia Nov 18,2016 Oct 22,2015 — Nov 29, 2016 10/1/2015 (67% wholesale sales price) EF, RL, T-21,T
10/1/2016 (65% wholesale sales price)**
Florida — — Jul1,2014 — — SS
Georgia — — — — — —
Guam — — — Jan 1,2018%f — T-21
Hawaii Jan 1,2016 — Jul1,2014 Jan 1,2016 — EF, SS, T-21
Idaho — — Jul1,2012 — — SS
Illinois — — Jan 1,2015 — — SS
Indiana — Jul 1,2015 Jul 1,2013 — — RL, SS
lowa — Jul1,2014 Jul1,2014 — — RL, SS
Kansas — Jul 1,2012 Jul 1,2012 — Jan 1,2017 ($0.20 per mL of RL,SS, T
consumable material)
Jul 1,2017 ($0.05 per mL of
consumable material)**
Kentucky — — — — — —
Louisiana — May 28,2014 May 5,2014 — Jul 1,2015 ($0.05 per liquid mL of nicotine) RL,SS, T
Maine — Nov 1,2017 Mar 3,2016*  Nov 1,201758 — RL, SS,T-21
Maryland — Oct 11,2017 — — — RL
Massachusetts — — Sep 25,2015* — — SS
Michigan — — — — — —
Minnesota — Aug 1,2014 Jul1,2014 — Aug 1, 2010 (35% wholesale sales price) RL,SS, T
Jul 1,2013 (95% wholesale sales price)**
Mississippi — — — — — —
Missouri — — — — — —
Montana — Jan1,2016 — — — RL
Nebraska — — Feb 27,2015 — — SS
Nevada — — — — — —
New Hampshire — — — — — —
New Jersey Jul 11,2010 — — Nov 1,2017 — EF, T-21
New Mexico — — Jun 19,2015 — — SS
New York — — Dec 29,2014 — — SS

See table footnotes on page 1344.

enacted during January—September 2017 (Figure 2). A total
of 72 laws were enacted in 34 states, DC, and three territories
during January 2010-September 2017. Sixteen states did not
have any of the five assessed laws, and California was the only
state with all five of the assessed laws.

Discussion

Several states have enacted laws related to e-cigarettes in
recent years, ranging from tobacco-21 laws in five states, DC,
and Guam, to self-service display restrictions in approximately

US Department of Health and Human Services/Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

half of the states. Legislative activity increased during 2013—
2015, peaked in 2015, and has since slowed. One third of
states did not have any of the five assessed laws. State, local, and
territorial strategies to reduce youths’ initiation of e-cigarettes
and population exposure to e-cigarette aerosol, including edu-
cational initiatives, coupled with federal regulation of tobacco
product manufacturing, labeling, and marketing, could help
reduce the risks of e-cigarettes on population health, especially
among young persons (2,5).
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TABLE. (Continued) State laws regarding indoor public use, retail sales, and prices of electronic cigarettes — U.S. states and Guam, Puerto Rico,
and U.S. Virgin Islands, enacted as of September 30,2017

Effective date
Sales of tobacco
products
Prohibits Retail license including
e-cigarette use requiredtosell Self-service e-cigarettes to
in worksites,  e-cigarettes displays of persons aged Summary of lawst

restaurants,and  over the e-cigarettes <21yrs enacted as of
State/Territory bars counter prohibited* prohibited E-cigarette tax (tax rate) September 30, 2017
North Carolina — — — — Jun 1,2015 ($0.05 per fluid mL) T
North Dakota Dec 6, 2012 — Aug 1,2015 — — EF, SS
Ohio — — — — — —
Oklahoma — — Nov 1,2014 — — SS
Oregon Jan 11,2016 — May 26, 2015 Aug 9, 2017 — EF, SS, T-21
Pennsylvania — Jul 13,2016 — — Jul 13,2016 (40% purchase price) RL T
Puerto Rico Apr 11,2011 — — — May 29, 2017 ($3.00 per e-cigarette) EFT
Rhode Island — Jan1,2015 — — — RL
South Carolina — — — — — —
South Dakota — — Jul1,2014 — — SS
Tennessee — — — — — —
Texas — — Oct 1,2015 — — SS
U.S. Virgin Islands — May 16,2014 — — Oct 15,2014 (20% cost price) RL T

Mar 23, 2016 (45% cost price)**

Utah May 8, 2012 Jul1,2015 Jul 11,2015 — — EF, RL, SS
Vermont Jul1,2016 Jul1,2013 Jan 1,2017 — — EF, RL, SS
Virginia — — — — — —
Washington — Jun 28,2016 Jun 28,2016 — — RL, SS
West Virginia — — — — Jul 1, 2016 ($0.075 per fluid mL) T
Wisconsin — — — — — —
Wyoming — — Mar 13,2013 — — SS
Total 8 states, DC, 16 states, DC, 26 states 5 states, DC, 8 states, DC, Puerto Rico and —

and Puerto Rico and U.S Virgin and Guam U.S. Virgin Islands

Islands

Abbreviations: EF = E-cigarette free indoor air law; RL = retail license; SS = self-service; T = excise tax; T-21 = sales to persons aged <21 years prohibited.

* Self-service display laws include regulations for Maine and Massachusetts, as reviewed by the Tobacco Control Legal Consortium.

T EF: state law prohibits e-cigarette use in indoor areas of private worksites, restaurants, and bars; RL: state law requires retailer to purchase a license to sell e-cigarettes;
SS: state law prohibits self-service displays of e-cigarettes; T: state law applies tax to e-cigarettes; T-21: state law prohibits sales of tobacco products, including
e-cigarettes, to persons aged <21 years.

8 Dashes indicate that laws related to these topics were not accessed for this state.

In California, the law prohibiting sales to persons <21 years of age does not apply to the sale, giving, or furnishing of tobacco products to active duty military
personnel who are aged >18 years.

** |In California, District of Columbia, Kansas, Minnesota, and U.S. Virgin Islands, legislation was updated to reflect changes in the excise tax rates. The effective dates
presented represent the original and updated laws.

T Guam’s T-21 law has been enacted but will not take effect until 2018.

8 Maine’s provisions for raising the minimum age of sale of tobacco to 21 years will not begin to be enforced until July 2018. In addition, persons who had attained
18 years of age as of July 1, 2018, will continue to be allowed to buy tobacco products.

On October 23, 2017, New York became the ninth state to public spaces. Previous research indicates that one in four U.S.
include e-cigarettes in its comprehensive smoke-free indoor air middle and high school students reported past-month expo-
law.S Thus, one third of the 27 states and DC with comprehen- sure to e-cigarette aerosol in a public place in 2015 (7). This
sive smoke-free laws that prohibit conventional tobacco smok- exposure is of public health concern because the U.S. Surgeon
ing in restaurants, worksites, and bars also prohibit e-cigarette General has concluded that e-cigarette aerosol is not harmless
use in these venues. Therefore, approximately 75.4% of the water vapor, and environmental studies have documented
U.S. population (an estimated 243.6 million U.S. residents, harmful and potentially harmful ingredients in secondhand
including 55.7 million children) live in states in which bystand- e-cigarette aerosol, including nicotine, heavy metals, ultra-
ers can be exposed to secondhand e-cigarette acrosol in indoor fine particulate matter, and volatile organic compounds (2).

Including e-cigarettes in comprehensive smoke-free laws can

S i . .
New York Senate Bill No. 2543 was enacted on October 23, 2017, and became prevent 1nvoluntary exposures to secondhand e-cigarette aero-

effective on November 22, 2017. This population estimate includes New York’s ) A
law, but the law is otherwise excluded from the present study’s findings because sol, eSPCCIHHY among vulnerable POPUIaUOflS such as YOUthS
it was enacted after the September 30, 2017 cutoff date.
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FIGURE 2. Number of state and territorial* laws that address indoor use, retail sales, and prices of e-cigarettes, enacted as of September 30,
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T In California, District of Columbia, Kansas, Minnesota, and U.S. Virgin Islands, legislation was updated in later years to reflect changes in tax rates. To avoid duplication,

this figure presents the enacted dates only of the original law.

and pregnant women; simplify enforcement of smoke-free
policies; and reduce the potential for the renormalization of
tobacco product use (2).

The remaining types of laws assessed in this study leverage
conventional smoking prevention strategies for youths, which
have the potential to prevent youths’ e-cigarette access (2,5).
Licensing requirements for tobacco retailers and manufacturers
can increase the incentive to comply with tobacco-related laws,
including those prohibiting sales to youths (2). In addition,
restricting self-service tobacco displays can reduce youths’
tobacco access by reducing theft and increasing interactions
between customers and retailers (8). Increasing the minimum
age of tobacco product sales to 21 years is a potential prevention
strategy, because 95% of adult smokers begin before age 21,
and young adulthood represents a critical period when many
smokers progress from experimental to regular tobacco use (9).
Finally, substantial increases in conventional cigarette prices
reduce consumption, especially among youths. To date, data
are limited on the impact of e-cigarette taxes on conventional
cigarette use; however, similar to conventional cigarettes,
e-cigarette price increases would be expected to reduce use
by youths (2,5). Further evaluations of the effectiveness of
these strategies can help inform public health practice and
planning (2,5).

FDA is authorized to regulate the manufacturing, sales,
distribution, and marketing of tobacco products sold in the
United States. In May 2016, the agency asserted jurisdiction
over products that meet the definition of a tobacco product,

US Department of Health and Human Services/Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

including e-cigarettes. FDA generally cannot restrict public
tobacco use, tax tobacco products, or establish a minimum
age for tobacco sales above age 18 years (2). However, the
Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act ensures
that localities, states, territories, and tribes can continue to
play a central role in tobacco prevention and control policies
by preserving their authority to regulate sales, marketing,
advertising, and use of tobacco products by persons of any
age.d Thus, state, local, territorial, and tribal tobacco control
strategies are an important complement to federal regulation,
which can help reduce the public health risks of e-cigarettes,
particularly among young persons (2).

The findings in this report are subject to at least two
limitations. First, STATE does not account for local laws,
bills under consideration, regulations, opinions of attorneys
general, or case law decisions for tobacco control topics other
than preemption. For example, at least 400 localities prohibit
indoor e-cigarette use and smoking in worksites, restaurants,
and bars,** and at least 200 localities have tobacco-21 laws.
Second, statutory requirements and definitions vary across
states. For example, although 26 states have laws or regulations
prohibiting self-service displays of e-cigarettes, only three of
these states (California, Iowa, and New Mexico) prohibit all

9 hteps://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-111publ31/content-detail.html.
** http://www.no-smoke.org/pdf/ecigslaws.pdf.
il hteps://www.tobaccofreekids.org/content/what_we_do/state_local_issues/
sales_21/states_localities. MLSA_21.pdf.
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self-service displays of e-cigarettes; the remaining 21 states
restrict self-service displays to adult-only facilities or tobacco
specialty stores and vape shops (6). Moreover, some states have
regulated e-cigarettes by expanding the statutory definition of
a tobacco product to include e-cigarettes, regardless of nicotine
content, to simplify enforcement (2). However, some states
define the products as alternative nicotine or vapor products
that are exempt from other tobacco product laws, such as
licensure requirements and taxes (2).

Given that cigarettes and other combusted tobacco products
are responsible for the overwhelming burden of tobacco-related
death and disease in the United States (5), the Surgeon General
has recommended actions to uphold and accelerate strategies
proven to prevent and reduce combustible tobacco smoking
among youths and adults, while simultaneously preventing
youths’ use of emerging tobacco products such as e-cigarettes (2).
A comprehensive tobacco control framework, which includes
strategies to prevent all tobacco product use by youths and public
exposure to secondhand tobacco smoke and e-cigarette aerosol,
is important to protect the public’s health (2,5).
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Summary
What is already known about this topic?

E-cigarettes are the most commonly used tobacco product
among U.S. youths. E-cigarettes typically deliver nicotine, and
the U.S. Surgeon General has concluded that nicotine exposure
during adolescence can cause addiction and can harm the
developing adolescent brain. In addition to federal regulation,
states, localities, territories, and tribes maintain broad authority
to adopt additional or more stringent requirements regarding
tobacco product use, sales, marketing, and other topics.

What is added by this report?

As of September 30, 2017, eight states, the District of Columbia
(DC), and Puerto Rico prohibited indoor e-cigarette use and
smoking in restaurants, bars, and worksites; 26 states prohibited
e-cigarette self-service displays; 16 states, DC, and the U.S.
Virgin Islands required a retail license to sell e-cigarettes; five
states, DC, and Guam had tobacco-21 laws; and eight states, DC,
Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands taxed e-cigarettes.
Sixteen states had no such laws.

What are the implications for public health practice?

State, local, and territorial strategies to reduce youths’initiation
of e-cigarettes and population exposure to e-cigarette aerosol,
which include educational initiatives, coupled with federal
regulation of tobacco product manufacturing, labelling, and
marketing, could help reduce e-cigarettes’ public health risks,
especially among young persons.

. Marynak K, Holmes CB, King BA, Promoff G, Bunnell R, McAfee T.

State laws prohibiting sales to minors and indoor use of electronic nicotine
delivery systems—United States, November 2014. MMWR Morb Mortal
Wkly Rep 2014;63:1145-50.

. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The health consequences

of smoking—>50 years of progress: a report of the Surgeon General. Adanta,
GA: US Department of Health and Human Services, CDC; 2014. hrtps://
www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/reports/50-years-of-progress/full-report.pdf

. Tobacco Control Legal Consortium. U.S. e-cigarette regulation: a 50-state

review. St. Paul, MN: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium; 2017. http://
www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/E-Cigarette-Legal-
Landscape-50-State-Review-March-2017.pdf

. Wang TW, Marynak KL, Agaku IT, King BA. Secondhand exposure to

electronic cigarette aerosol among U.S. Youths. JAMA Pediatr
2017;171:490-2. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamapediatrics.2016.4973

. Changelab Solutions. Self-service display of tobacco products: a model

ordinance. Oakland, CA: Changelab Solutions; 2017. htep://www.
changelabsolutions.org/publications/self-service-display-tobacco-products

. Institute of Medicine. Public health implications of raising the minimum

age of legal access to tobacco products. Washington, DC: National
Academies of Sciences, Institute of Medicine; 2015. http://iom.
nationalacademies.org/Reports/2015/TobaccoMinimumAgeReport.aspx

US Department of Health and Human Services/Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


mailto:kmarynak@cdc.gov
https://doi.org/10.15585/mmwr.mm6623a1
https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/e-cigarettes/pdfs/2016_sgr_entire_report_508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/e-cigarettes/pdfs/2016_sgr_entire_report_508.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/e-cigarettes/pdfs/2016_sgr_entire_report_508.pdf
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/05/10/2016-10685/deeming-tobacco-products-to-be-subject-to-the-federal-food-drug-and-cosmetic-act-as-amended-by-the
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/05/10/2016-10685/deeming-tobacco-products-to-be-subject-to-the-federal-food-drug-and-cosmetic-act-as-amended-by-the
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/05/10/2016-10685/deeming-tobacco-products-to-be-subject-to-the-federal-food-drug-and-cosmetic-act-as-amended-by-the
https://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/reports/50-years-of-progress/full-report.pdf
https://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/reports/50-years-of-progress/full-report.pdf
http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/E-Cigarette-Legal-Landscape-50-State-Review-March-2017.pdf
http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/E-Cigarette-Legal-Landscape-50-State-Review-March-2017.pdf
http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/E-Cigarette-Legal-Landscape-50-State-Review-March-2017.pdf
https://doi.org/10.1001/jamapediatrics.2016.4973
http://www.changelabsolutions.org/publications/self-service-display-tobacco-products
http://www.changelabsolutions.org/publications/self-service-display-tobacco-products
http://iom.nationalacademies.org/Reports/2015/TobaccoMinimumAgeReport.aspx
http://iom.nationalacademies.org/Reports/2015/TobaccoMinimumAgeReport.aspx

	State Laws Regarding Indoor Public Use, Retail Sales, and Prices of Electronic Cigarettes — U.S. States, Guam, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands, September 30, 2017



